Life Sciences Start-up Competition

Brought to you by the Life Sciences Institute and e@UBC

We challenge you to innovate! Design a plan for translation of your idea into product.

To keep you educated and motivated we have:

  • $10,000 in CASH Prizes
  • Free workshops on intellectual property, business plans & fundraising
  • Talks by successful Life Sciences entrepreneurs
  • Industry leaders and experts who will mentor the teams

Competition Timeline:

  • Deadline to register to participate was: November 30 2016 – REGISTRATION IS NOW CLOSED
  • Deadline to submit business plans: Monday February 13, 2017
  • Competition: February 23, 2017, 3-5 pm

Click here for full Competition details

Take advantage of the free workshops and talks that we’ve lined up for you. Everyone can attend, whether or not you plan to take part in the Competition.

Workshop Series:

Resources for Entrepreneurs in Vancouver – Overview of Training Programs and Competitions
Monday, September 19, 2016, noon – 1:30 pm, LSC 3

Competitive Landscape
Monday, October 3, 2016, noon – 1:30 pm, LSC 1330

Drug Development 101
Wednesday, October 5, 2016, noon – 1:30 pm, LSC 1330

IP – Types of Patents, Overview
Wednesday, October 19, 2016, noon – 1:30 pm, LSC 1330

Business 101
Wednesday, November 2, 2016, noon – 1:30 pm, LSC 1330

Business Model Canvas
Monday, November 7, 2016, noon – 1:30 pm, LSC 1330

Business Plan
Wednesday, November 16, 2016, noon – 1:30 pm, LSC 1330

Grants and Tax Credits
Monday, November 21, 2016, noon – 2 pm, LSC 3

Funding 101
Wednesday, November 30, 2016, noon – 1:30 pm, LSC 1330

IP – Working with the UILO
Monday, December 5, 2016, noon – 1:30 pm, LSC 1330

Incorporation
Wednesday, January 25, 2017, noon – 1:30 pm, LSC 1330

Investor Pitch
Wednesday, February 8, 2017, noon – 1:30 pm, LSC 1330

Entrepreneurial Speaker Series:

Daniel Wattier – Chief Executive Officer, ImStar Therapeutics
Monday, October 17, 2016, noon – 1:30 pm, LSC 3

Dr. Brendan Byrne – CIO, TELUS Health 
TBD

Click here to download Competition flyer

Program Partner:

eubc-logo